2023 WAPA Paving Award Winners Honored

2023 WAPA Paving Award Winners Honored

2023 Paving Awards winners were celebrated at WAPA’s 69th Annual Meeting on November 3rd.  A wide range of “Best of the Best” awards were presented to Washington state’s premier asphalt paving companies alongside the private sector and public owners of the projects.

The public works paving awards were graciously presented by Doug McCormick, P.E., the 2023 President Elect of the Washington State Association of County Engineers (WSACE), Loren Behm, 2023 President of the American Public Works Association of Washington (APWA-WA) and Roger Millar, P.E., our state’s Secretary of Transportation.  Scott Willms of Shamrock Paving, WAPA’s 2023 President, led the awards ceremony and presented the awards for Commercial, Innovative, Heavy/ Industrial and Intermodal paving.

This year’s Carl Minor Award (the highest rated public works paving project of the year) was awarded to WSDOT Contract 9759 – US 2 – Davenport to Reardan PavingTom Brasch, P.E. and Alex Proszek, P.E. led WSDOT’s project management team and Inland Asphalt Paving Inc. of Spokane (a CRH company) was the General Contractor and self-performed the production and paving of over 17,000 tons of top-quality hot mix asphalt, “magically” transforming the ride on this stretch of highway.  The job was also the smoothest measured ride of all the projects honored at this year’s paving awards banquet.

Carl Minor Award Winners 2023 from WSDOT Eastern Region & Inland Asphalt Paving Company 


The full list of award winners, for the past five years, are provided below:

2023 Annual Paving Awards

2022 Annual Paving Awards

2021 WAPA Awards – WAPA/WSACE/APWA Paving Awards and WSDOT/WAPA Paving Awards

2020 WAPA Paving Awards

2019 WAPA Awards – 2019 WAPA Paving Awards Catalog – Web Version

The presentation that accompanied the awards is available here: 2019 Paving Awards Presentation Slideshow

2018 WAPA Awards2018 WSDOT-WAPA Paving Awards

The PowerPoint slide show highlighting each project is available here: 2018 WAPA Paving Awards PPT Presentation


News Release: WSDOT Earns Three Perpetual Pavement Awards

News Release: WSDOT Earns Three Perpetual Pavement Awards

Asphalt Pavement Alliance Announces Winners of 2022 Perpetual Pavement Award (PPA)

The Washington State Dept. of Transportation was notified on May 12th, 2023 that it has won three 2022 PPAs from the Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA). The awards celebrate long-life asphalt pavements from across the USA that highlight the characteristics of a Perpetual Pavement – By Performance, By Design or By Conversion.  The press release for the Washington state projects that won the awards this year is here:2022 PPA WA Press Release FINAL – APA – 3 awards

A video on the Perpetual Pavement concept is available here.


The Asphalt Pavement Alliance (www.driveasphalt.org) is a partnership of the Asphalt Institute (AI), the National Asphalt Pavement Association (NAPA) and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations. The Asphalt Pavement Alliance’s mission is to establish asphalt as the preferred choice for quality, performance and the environment.

For more information, contact:
Asphalt Pavement Alliance
Amy Miller, P.E., 904-591-3333, amiller@asphaltroads.org

Washington State Department of Transportation
Claudia Bingham Baker, 360-357-2789, Bakerc@wsdot.wa.gov

Diamond Awards

Diamond Awards

The Diamond Commendations encourage and recognize excellence. Continuous improvement in all aspects of operations is the goal. Taken together, the three commendations below provide a blueprint for excellence in all aspects of the industry’s operations, both at the plant and on the paving site.

2016 WAPA Paving Awards (Projects Paved in 2015)

2016 WAPA Awards Presentation (PowerPoint):

The complete list of 2016 WAPA Paving Award Winners is included here: 2016 WAPA Paving Awards